International Institute of Welding Diplomas

The International Institute of Welding (IIW) was founded in 1948 with the objective of being the international organization for the promotion of welding innovation and best joining practices and for providing a platform for the exchange and dissemination of evolving welding technologies and applications.

Today, the IIW is a worldwide network for welding and allied joining technologies, with a current membership of 56 countries from the five continents.

The CWB Group recognizes the international importance of the IIW system for the accreditation of welding personnel. The world is harmonizing standards and the IIW diplomas will be the international minimum used by most countries around the world.

The CWB Group is the Authorized National Body (ANB) for the International Institute of Welding (IIW) in Canada and is issuing diplomas to welding professionals at four levels:

  • International Welding Engineer
  • International Welding Technologist
  • International Welding Specialist
  • International Welding Practitioner

Currently, there are two options to gaining qualification.

  1. The Standard Route
  2. Transitional Arrangements

The Standard Route
The Standard Route requires attendance at IIW approved training courses designed to meet all the requirements in IIW syllabus. This is the route recommended by IIW as offering the fastest, most comprehensive manner in which the syllabus may be covered. At present the only Authorized Training Body (ATB) that is accredited in Canada is Northern College in Kirkland Lake, Ontario. They are approved for delivery of the training program for International Welding Technologists. For more information on the ATB click here.

The Standard Route also allows for a limited amount of prior learning to be taken into account, for example during University or College courses.

Written and oral examinations maybe required for the award of the IIW diploma.

Transition Arrangements
Transition Arrangements are the requirements by which individuals with Canadian experience are recognized and approved for receiving IIW qualifications without attending courses though an Authorized Training Body (ATB). Due to the IIW rules for this option, only candidates who have fully met all the requirements prior to February 2008 will be accepted.

The CWB Group is currently accepting applications candidates for the Engineer, Technologist, Specialist and Practitioner under the IIW approved Canadian Transition Arrangements.

The attached document lists the specific requirements for each qualification: Click here to download a PDF document of Transition Arrangements.

Candidate Application Form

Related links
To follow IIW activities in Canada and internationally, refer to:

For more information contact the CWB at 1-800-844-6790 or at